Welcome to Origin Career Institute!

Monday - Saturday : 8 AM - 8 PM | Call us: (+91) 9452982587 | (+91) 8009176039

About KVPY / Olympiads / NTSE


In Origin, we also make students prepare for KVPY (Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana) , NTSE (National Talent Search Exam) or Olympiads (National) exams. Being in a consistently competitive environment will boost your performance and also propel your competitive exams preparation in the right direction.
Better the coaching, higher the chances for success. We provide the right guidance for these competitive exams and we also focus to improve your consistency and regularity.

Related Information

Know more about KVPY / Olympiads / NTSE Exams and paper structure

  • KVPY
  • Olympiads
  • NTSE

What is KVPY Exam.?

The Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) is an on-going National Program of Fellowship in Basic Sciences, initiated and funded by the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, to attract exceptionally highly motivated students for pursuing basic science courses and research career in science.
The objective of the program is to identify students with talent and aptitude for research; help them realize their academic potential; encourage them to take up research careers in Science, and ensure the growth of the best scientific minds for research and development in the country.

Eligibility to appear for KVPY

Students intending to pursue/pursing under graduate program under Distance Education scheme/correspondence course of any university are not eligible to apply.
For SA Stream:

    Candidates studying Science in the 11th standard can apply under this category.
    The candidates should have studied Mathematics & Science in the 10th standard.
   Candidates must have secured a minimum aggregate of 75% marks 10th standard (65% marks in case of SC/ST/PWD candidates).

For SX Stream:

   Candidates who are studying Science (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology) in the 12th standard can apply under this category.
   The candidates should have studied Mathematics and Science and secured a minimum aggregate of 75% marks in the 10th standard (65% marks in case of SC/ST/PWD candidates).
   The candidates should be willing to pursue higher studies in Basic Sciences after completion of the 10+2 examination with a minimum aggregate score of 60% (50% in case of SC/ST/PWD candidates) in the Science subjects.

For SB Stream:

   Undergraduate candidates studying Basic Science program (Physics/Chemistry/Mathematics/Biology) leading to B.Sc./B. Stat./MS/Integrated M. Sc. can apply under this category.
   The candidates must have secured a minimum aggregate of 60% marks in 10+2 examination (50% in case of SC/ST/PWD candidates).
   The candidates also must have secured a minimum score of 60% marks (50% in case of SC/ST/PWD candidates) in the 1st year Graduation Final Examination.

Mode of the examination

For Part 1 , it is in offline mode only.
For Part 2 , it is in offline mode only.

Marking Scheme

Marking Scheme for Part I - + 1 mark for each correct answer - 0.25 mark for each incorrect answer.
Marking Scheme for Part II - + 2 mark for each correct answer - 0.50 mark for each incorrect answer

Level of Exam

For SA Stream:
Science Syllabus of 10th & 12th standards
For SB / SX Stream:
Science Syllabus of 12th & 1st year of B. Sc./Integrated M. Sc.

What is Olympiads Exam.?

Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education is the nodal centre of the country for Olympiad programmes in mathematics and sciences including astronomy. The programmes aim at promoting excellence in science and mathematics among pre-university students.
The programme is financially supported by Government of India, in particular, by Board of Nuclear Sciences (Department of Atomic Energy), Department of Science and Technology, Department of Space and Ministry of Human Resource Development.
The Mathematical Olympiad programme consists of five stages including International Olympiad Exam. But we only prepare students for Olympiads (National).

Eligibility for Exam

For NSO (National Science Olympiad) : 1 to 12th class students.
NCO (National Cyber Olympiad) : 1 to 12th class.
RMO (Regional Mathematics Olympiad) : Intermediate.

Mode of examination

It is in offline mode.

What is NTSE Exam.?

National Talent Search Exam (NTSE) is a scholarship programme conducted by NCERT, as a part of their National Talent Search Scheme launched way back in 1963 with an objective to identify talented students and encourage them to pursue higher education. The scheme provides financial assistance to meritorious students in the form of monthly scholarship.
Students who are awarded the scholarship receive financial assistance up to Ph.D level in Social Sciences, Basic Sciences and Commerce. The scheme has undergone many changes in the pattern, structure and various other aspects over the years in response to the changing needs of the children and the conditions of the society. Though it was initially aimed at motivating deserving students to go for higher studies, with the growing importance to higher education in the present day society, the objective of the programme is more focussed on recognising students with extremely high intellectual abilities and academic excellence.

Eligibility for Exam

All students studying in recognised schools of class X are eligible to appear for the Stage-I NTS Examination. Student from any board can appear for the examination. The scheme is open only to students of Indian nationality.
However, Indian students studying Abroad in class 10 can appear directly for Stage-II NTS Examination.

Mode of Selection

The selection process consists of two levels, the preliminary exam (Stage – I) is conducted by the respective state/UT boards generally in the month of November. The students who qualify in Stage – I, appear for Stage – II examination conducted by NTSE generally in the month of May. The notification for this examination is generally released in the month of July by NCERT.
Reservation: 15% scholarships are reserved for students belonging to SC category, 7.5% for students belonging to ST category and 3% scholarships are reserved for students who belong to PC (Physically Challenged) Category.

Mode of Examination

The written examination for Class X will be in two stages: Stage I examination at the State/UT level will comprise of two parts, namely Mental Ability Test (MAT)
Scholastic Ability Test (SAT) covering Sciences, Mathematics, Social Sciences and the English Language.
Paper Part/Section Areas Tested Total Marks Time allotted for the section :
    Paper-I MAT (Mental Ability Test) Reasoning 50 45 minutes.
    Paper-II LT (Language Test) English/Hindi 50 45 minutes.
  Paper-III SAT (Scholastic Aptitude Test) Sciences(35 questions: Physics,Chemistry and Biology).